Rand v. The Travelers Indemnity Company: A Landmark Ruling on Insurance Appraisal Clauses
The intersection of insurance coverage disputes and contractual appraisal mechanisms reached a critical juncture in Rand v. The Travelers Indemnity Company, a 2021 decision by the Connecticut Supreme Court that continues to reverberate through insurance litigation nationwide. This case serves as a definitive authority on a question that has long plagued policyholders and insurers alike: **does a standard appraisal clause authorize a panel of appraisers to resolve disputes over causation and coverage exclusions, or is their authority strictly limited to determining the monetary value of a loss that has already been deemed covered?
For legal practitioners, claims adjusters, and property owners, understanding the nuances of this ruling is essential for navigating property insurance claims, particularly those involving complex perils like water damage, mold, or hidden deterioration. The decision draws a bright line between valuation and liability, reinforcing the judiciary’s role as the ultimate arbiter of contract interpretation Easy to understand, harder to ignore. Worth knowing..
People argue about this. Here's where I land on it.
The Factual Background: A Dispute Over Water Damage
The dispute originated from a seemingly standard homeowners’ insurance claim. The plaintiffs, the Rands, suffered water damage to their Connecticut residence. Because of that, they submitted a claim under their all-risk policy issued by The Travelers Indemnity Company. Travelers denied the claim, invoking the policy’s "constant or repeated seepage" exclusion. The insurer took the position that the damage resulted from a long-term maintenance issue—specifically, continuous leakage over weeks or months—rather than a sudden, accidental discharge covered by the policy Small thing, real impact..
The Rands disagreed with the factual basis for the denial. But citing the policy’s appraisal clause, they demanded that the dispute be submitted to appraisal. They argued the damage was sudden and accidental, triggering coverage. The clause in question is standard in the industry: it provides that if the insured and insurer "fail to agree on the amount of loss," either party may demand an appraisal by two competent appraisers and an umpire Easy to understand, harder to ignore..
Travelers refused to participate in appraisal. The insurer contended that the dispute was not merely about the amount of the loss (the cost to repair), but about the cause of the loss (seepage vs. This leads to sudden discharge). Because causation determines whether a coverage exclusion applies, Travelers argued this was a coverage dispute reserved for the courts, not a valuation dispute for appraisers.
Procedural History: A Clash of Lower Courts
The Rands filed an action in Superior Court to compel appraisal. The trial court sided with the policyholders, ordering the parties to proceed to appraisal. The court reasoned that the factual dispute over the cause of the water intrusion was inextricably intertwined with the valuation of the damage, and therefore fell within the scope of "amount of loss Small thing, real impact..
Travelers appealed. Consider this: it does not encompass threshold questions of coverage, such as whether an exclusion applies or what peril caused the damage. Now, the Appellate Court held that the phrase "amount of loss" unambiguously refers only to the monetary valuation of damaged property. In a significant reversal, the Connecticut Appellate Court overturned the trial court. The Rands then petitioned the Connecticut Supreme Court for certification, which was granted Surprisingly effective..
The Core Legal Issue: Defining "Amount of Loss"
Before the Connecticut Supreme Court, the central issue was one of contractual interpretation: What does "amount of loss" mean in the context of a standard homeowners policy appraisal clause?
The Rands advocated for a broad, functional interpretation. If the cause of the loss dictates which items are considered "lost" (covered) versus "excluded," then appraisers must have the authority to decide causation to perform their job. They argued that determining the "amount of loss" necessarily requires the appraisers to decide what was lost. They cited a trend in other jurisdictions—often called the "majority rule" or "modern trend"—where courts allow appraisers to decide causation issues that are "inextricably intertwined" with valuation.
Real talk — this step gets skipped all the time.
Travelers, supported by numerous amici curiae briefs from insurance industry groups, argued for a strict, textualist reading. They maintained that "amount of loss" has a well-established legal meaning: the dollar value of the loss. Coverage determinations
are exclusively reserved for the courts. They emphasized that appraisal clauses are meant to resolve valuation disputes, not coverage disputes, and that allowing appraisers to rule on causation would undermine the insurer's duty to defend and create a conflict of interest.
Supreme Court Decision: A Narrow Interpretation Prevails
The Connecticut Supreme Court adopted the insurer's narrow construction, ruling that "amount of loss" refers exclusively to the monetary valuation of property damage and does not include threshold coverage determinations. The court found that allowing appraisers to decide causation would effectively permit them to act as both loss adjusters and coverage adjudicators, creating an inherent conflict since they are selected and compensated by the insurer.
Quick note before moving on It's one of those things that adds up..
The court emphasized that appraisal clauses serve a limited remedial function and that disputes over coverage exclusions must be resolved by courts or arbitrators with full authority to consider all relevant legal issues. It rejected the "inextricably intertwined" test advanced by the Rands, noting that while causation and valuation may be factually related, they remain distinct legal questions requiring different expertise and authority Easy to understand, harder to ignore..
Broader Implications and Resolution
This decision aligns Connecticut with a minority jurisdiction that maintains the traditional distinction between coverage and valuation disputes. The ruling provides insurers with clearer protection against appraisal-based circumvention of coverage defenses, while potentially limiting policyholders' ability to obtain appraisals when causation issues are central to their claim.
Following the Supreme Court's decision, the matter remanded to the trial court, which dismissed the Rands' petition to compel appraisal. The case illustrates the tension between policyholders' rights to appraisal under their insurance contracts and insurers' obligations to defend against coverage claims, ultimately reinforcing the principle that coverage determinations remain within the exclusive domain of the judiciary rather than the appraisal process.